Quad Cities, IL/IA

Working with the community... for a healthier community.

Understanding the Five Stages of Grief


By TJ Martin


Grief is a universal human experience, and it can be a challenging and often overwhelming journey. Whether you’re mourning the loss of a loved one, a significant life change, or even the end of a relationship, understanding the stages of grieving can help you navigate this emotional terrain more effectively. Developed by psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in 1969, the five stages of grief provide a framework for individuals to make sense of their emotions and find a path toward healing.



The first stage of grief is often denial. When we encounter a significant loss, it can be difficult to accept the reality of the situation. We may experience shock and disbelief, as our minds try to protect us from immediate pain. However, it is essential not to get stuck in this stage for an extended period, as it can hinder the grieving process.



As denial begins to fade, it is often replaced by anger. This stage can manifest in various ways, from frustration and irritability to resentment and rage. You may find yourself asking questions like “Why did this happen to me?” or “Who is responsible for this?” While anger is a powerful emotion, it’s crucial to channel it in healthy ways.



During the bargaining stage, individuals often try to regain control over the situation. They may make promises, negotiate, or pray in the hope of reversing the loss. Bargaining is a way of coping with the feeling of helplessness, and it is a natural part of the grieving process.



Depression is a natural response to grief, but it is distinct from clinical depression. In this stage, people may experience deep sadness, overwhelming sorrow, and a sense of emptiness. Depression in grief is often a sign that the individual is coming to terms with the reality of the loss and processing their emotions.



The final stage of grief is acceptance. This doesn’t mean that the pain is gone, but it signifies a newfound ability to live with the loss. Individuals in this stage have come to terms with the reality of their situation and are better equipped to move forward in life.

Grieving is a complex and highly individualized process. While these stages provide a framework, they vary for each individual. People may move through them in a different order or revisit certain stages as they continue to heal. Be patient with yourself, seek support when needed, and allow your emotions to flow naturally. There is no timeframe on grief, it is a process.


Other Considerations

     Seek Support: Having a strong support group is crucial when dealing with grief. Friends, family, and support groups can provide comfort and understanding.

     Professional Help: If you find that your grief is overwhelming and interfering with your daily life, it may be beneficial to seek professional help from a therapist or counselor who specializes in grief and loss.


Self-Care: Taking care of your physical and emotional well-being is crucial during the grieving process. Make sure to get enough rest, eat healthily, and engage in activities that bring you comfort and joy.

    Be Patient: Healing from grief takes time. Everyone’s journey is unique, and there’s no set timeline for when you should “be over it.” Allow yourself the space and grace to heal at your own pace.



Understanding the five stages of grief can provide valuable insight into the emotional journey that follows loss. Grief is a complex process, and there is no one-size-fits-all approach to dealing with it. By acknowledging and working through these stages, seeking support, and practicing self-care, you can gradually find a path to healing and acceptance in your own time and on your own terms. Remember that it’s okay to grieve, and it’s okay to seek help when needed.


    The author is the founder of “Do The Dream,” a personal development coaching platform. Visit her website at www.dothedreamnow.com